Vladimir Horowitz

By Gerrits, Roland / Anefo [CC BY-SA 3.0 nl (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/nl/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Gerrits, Roland / Anefo [CC BY-SA 3.0 nl (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/nl/deed.en)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

The Masters Series …  Some wise words from a great pianist, an idol of mine  – Vladimir Horowitz.

I must tell you I take terrible risks. Because my playing is very clear, when I make a mistake you hear it. If you want me to play only the notes without any specific dynamics, I will never make one mistake. Never be afraid to dare.’

– Vladimir Horowitz

The film contains mainly performances of classical works, but also provides an intimate look into Horowitz’s private life. A real must see!

INTERVIEWER: “Who is your favourite of all? ”

VH: “This one, no! This and this … those two!”

“Don’t be afraid! Say Rachmaninoff!”

VH: “Rachmaninoff is a pianist! I play with him … Rachmaninoff … He was a wonderful pianist and nice friend. He was my best friend… First of all he was composer, pianist and conductor. Three things at one, and first class all three, I think so…”

1 Comment

Filed under The Masters Series

One response to “Vladimir Horowitz

Leave a Reply

